News About the 2013 World Baseball Classic

Source: Wikepedia

Plans for the 2013 World Baseball Classic include expanding the number of competing teams through the use of a qualifying tournament to maintain the same numbers in the main tournament. The twelve teams that won at least one game in the 2009 WBC will receive a bye and automatically qualify for the main tournament in 2013, while the four teams first eliminated in 2009 –  Canada,  Chinese Taipei,  Panama, and  South Africa – will take part in the qualifying tournament, to be held in November 2012 in Taiwan. In addition to these will be an additional 12 teams participating in the World Baseball Classic for the first time:  Brazil,  Colombia,  Czech Republic,  France,  Germany,  Great Britain,  Israel,  New Zealand,  Nicaragua,  Philippines,  Spain, and  Thailand. The four top teams from the qualifying tournament will join the twelve automatic qualifiers to compose a 16-team field for the main tournament in spring 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: